Paul House, Rwebisengo Town

In 2002, the Government of Uganda undertook a situation analysis of Orphans and other Vulnerable Children (OVC) for the very first time. The analysis revealed that besides orphans, there were other vulnerable children in the country who equally needed external support to improve their well-being. As a result, in 2004, the Government launched an OVC policy and its five-year National Strategic Program Plan of Interventions (NSPPI) where OVC were served in six core program areas, these were: Education, Food security, Psychosocial support, child protection, health and Economic strengthening.

However, in 2019, these core program areas were revised and merged to come up with four main domains and integrated with case management.

  1. Care and protection (Safe)
  2. Education and development (Schooled)
  3. survival and health (Healthy)
  4. economic stability and security (Stable).

RWCA is committed to serving Orphans and other vulnerable children in the Rwenzori Region in the mentioned four core program areas in partnership with other development partners